Skip to main content

A&S Students Among Chellgren Center Class of 31 Fellows

By C. Lynn Hiler T

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Sept. 24, 2020) — The University of Kentucky Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence has announced its newest class of 31 Chellgren Student Fellows.  

The Chellgren Center Student Fellows Program aligns with the university’s goal of cultivating undergraduate excellence. By providing experiences that go beyond the classroom, students become prepared for the next phase of their career, whether it be graduate school or a gap year dedicated to service. 

COVID-19 has certainly made for an unprecedented academic year. Students and professors are adhering to mask regulations in the classroom, dining halls are empty and many classes are completely online. In spite of this unexpected turn of events, Philipp Kraemer, Chellgren Chair for Undergraduate Excellence, is hopeful and excited for this 2020 class of Chellgren Fellows. 

“As we struggle to manage our lives during a very challenging moment, working with talented, highly motivated students such as the 2020 Chellgren Student Fellows provides me a welcome uplift,” Kraemer said.

The 2020-2021 Fellows and their majors are:

Jasmine Ahmad, health, society, and populations.

Kaitylnn Albers, journalism.

Molly Armstrong, neuroscience.

Constance Bledsoe, international studies.

Madison Boosveld, neuroscience.

Cameron Brewer, mechanical engineering.

Kennedy Brown, human health sciences

Garrett Demaree, civil engineering.

Burke Doud, mechanical engineering.

Riley Droppleman, biology.

Madilyn Flandermeyer, materials engineering.

Sophia Gonzales, biology.

Emily Guerrero, neuroscience.

Bethany Ison, neuroscience.

Mihir Kale, political science.

Shauna Kitts, social work.

Nevaeh Leachman, neuroscience.

Faith Makumbi, physics.

Ian Metzgar, biosystems engineering.

Alexandra Nolletti, neuroscience.

Reagan Parker, linguistics.

Jake Patty, chemical engineering.

Maryrose Ramsey, chemical engineering.

Jennifer Rodriguez, marketing.

Marlee Scholten, pre-biomedical engineering.

Rachael Snyder, agricultural and medical biotechnology.

Josh Thomas, mining engineering.

Tori Vestal, foreign language and international economic.s

Meredith Williams, biology.

Sam Wyse, chemical engineering.

Gabija Ziemyte, physics.

To learn more about the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence, please visit

The University of Kentucky is increasingly the first choice for students, faculty and staff to pursue their passions and their professional goals. In the last two years, Forbes has named UK among the best employers for diversity, and INSIGHT into Diversity recognized us as a Diversity Champion three years running. UK is ranked among the top 30 campuses in the nation for LGBTQ* inclusion and safety. UK has been judged a “Great College to Work for" three years in a row, and UK is among only 22 universities in the country on Forbes' list of "America's Best Employers."  We are ranked among the top 10 percent of public institutions for research expenditures — a tangible symbol of our breadth and depth as a university focused on discovery that changes lives and communities. And our patients know and appreciate the fact that UK HealthCare has been named the state’s top hospital for four straight years. Accolades and honors are great. But they are more important for what they represent: the idea that creating a community of belonging and commitment to excellence is how we honor our mission to be not simply the University of Kentucky, but the University for Kentucky.